Detailed view

© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart

Invaded site

© E. Branquart
Print page

Cornus sericea

Identity

Common name: Red-osier dogwood
Synonyms: C. stolonifera, C. alba
Origin: North America
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental shrub

Description

C. sericea is a multi-stemmed shrub growing from 4 to 6 m high. The young stems and twigs are dark red, gradually fading to grey-green, and becoming red again in the autumn and winter. Opposite leaves, 10 cm long, with prominent lateral veins, dark green above and hairy and lighter-coloured below. Flowers are creamy-white, gathered in dense flat-topped clusters. Flowers are self-sterile. Fruits are white berries.

Spread

This shrub has moderate dispersal capacities, with strong vegetative reproduction but no seed germination (in Belgium). It spreads by layering when the lower stems touch or lie along the ground and root at the nodes. Shoot fragments can be transported over long distances through rivers. Seeds are primarily dispersed by birds and other mamals. Individual plants generally first produce fruits at 3 to 4 years of age. Seeds are not likely to germinate under Belgian climatic conditions, seedlings have never been observed in the wild. Commonly used as ornamental.

Habitat

C. sericea is mostly found on moist and humid soils like swamps, wet meadows, megaphorbs, alluvial forests and other wetlands. The species can live with roots submerged in water for most of the growing season. The plant is able to tolerate extreme cold temperatures.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. This shrub has a strong vegetative reproduction capacity. It can cover large areas with a dense canopy which reduces the growth of native vegetation and decreases plant species richness. C. sericea can colonise habitat of high conservation value like alluvial forests (swamp forest) and riparian zones. Mentionned as an aggressive invader of semi-natural wetland habitats, both open and wooded. Listed as invasive in Switzerland, Ireland and the United-Kingdom. In Belgium the species is present in alluvial woodland classified as Natura 2000 habitats. More and more observed in the wild in Flanders. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near rivers and wet habitats, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart
© E. Branquart

Site envahi

© E. Branquart
Print page

Cornus sericea

Identité

Nom commun: Cornouiller soyeux
Synonymes: C. stolonifera, C. alba
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Le cornouiller soyeux est un arbuste à tiges mutliples dont la hauteur peut atteindre 4 à 6 m. Les jeunes tiges sont rouges foncé, puis passent graduellement vers une couleur gris-vert, et deviennent à nouveau rouges pour l'automne et l'hiver. Les feuilles sont opposées, de 10 cm de long, vert foncé au-dessus, plus claires et poilues en-dessous, avec des veines latérales proéminentes. Les fleurs de couleur blanc-crème. Les fruits sont des baies blanches.

Dispersion

Cet arbuste présente des capacités de dispersion limitée, avec une forte aptitude à la multiplication végétative, mais pas de germination des graines (en Belgique). Il se propage à courte distance à l'aide de ses tiges rampantes qui s'enracinent au niveau des noeuds. Des fragments de tiges peuvent être transportés à plus longue distance par les cours d'eau. Le graines sont dispersées par les oiseaux et par d'autres mammifères. C. sericea peut commencer à produire des fruits dès l'âge de 3 à 4 ans. En Belgique, les graines ne semblent pas germer. Des plantules n'ont jamais été observées à l'état sauvage. Espèce fréquemment utilisée comme ornementale.

Habitat

Cette plante colonise les milieux humides à marécageux comme les bas-marais, les prairies humides, les mégaphorbiaies, les forêts alluviales et d'autre zones humides. L'espèce peut survivre avec ses racines submergées pendant toute la saison de végétation. Elle est très résistante au froid.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Elle est répertoriée comme invasive en Suisse, en Irlande et aux Royaumes-Unis. Etant donné ses fortes capacités de multiplication végétative, le cornouiller soyeux forme un couvert dense qui empêche le développement de la flore indigène et réduit la diversité en plantes. Il peut couvrir de grandes surfaces. Il colonise des milieux de grand intérêt écologique comme les aulnaies marécageuses (habitat Natura 2000 prioritaire) et les zones alluviales. L'espèce est décrite comme un envahisseur agressif dans les zones humides, aussi bien en milieux ouverts que fermés. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des cours d'eau et des zones humides, surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper - tailler les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]