Detailed view

© Crusier
© J. Tosti GNU
© RPS Group Plc
© Botaurus
Print page

Quercus rubra

Identity

Common name: Red oak
Synonyms: Quercus borealis
Origin: North America
Plant type: Tree
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental tree

Description

Deciduous tree up to 20 - 30 m tall. Large leaves, simple, alternate, oblong in shape with 7 to 11 lobes, green coloured first then reddish in autumn. On young stems, bark is smooth, older bark develops wide, flat-topped ridges and shallow furrows. Fuits are acorns. Attractive for small mammals

Spread

Dispersal capacities of Q. rubra are medium. It reproduces by seeds, dispersed by wind. Regeneration is high, but its potential to colonise semi-natural habitats through long-distance dispersal is uncertain in Belgian eco-climatic conditions. This species is voluntarily planted in forests.

Habitat

Often planted in parks and woods, Quercus rubra is reported to colonise woodlands and forest margins, especially on moist acidic sandy or loamy soils. It is tolerant to shade conditions.

Impact

Species classified B3 in Belgium. Invasion cases are reported in Eastern Europe. In Belgium, date are lacking concerning the environmental impact of Q. rubra. Where planted, red oak recruitment rate is very high and young trees can form a dense understorey excluding ground vegetation and other tree species. Red oak is characterised by a species-poor phytophagous and saproxylic community in comparison to native oaks. Litter is hardly degraded and favours soil acidification. The species has also been reported to accelerate colonisation of open habitats near forest edges. For more information, click here

Recommendation

Avoid planting this species near forests (acidophilous beeh or oak forests), especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.).

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental tree

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© Crusier
© J. Tosti GNU
© RPS Group Plc
© Botaurus
Print page

Quercus rubra

Identité

Nom commun: Chêne rouge d'Amérique
Synonymes: Quercus borealis
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Arbre
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbres d'ornement

Description

Arbre à feuillage caduque, à port étalé, atteignant rapidement de 20 à 30 m de haut. Les grandes feuilles alternes, entières, à 4 ou 5 lobes aigus, virent au rouge en automne. Les fleurs apparaissent en avril, sur les jeune rameaux. Les fleurs mâles forment d'assez longs chatons pendants. Les petites fleurs femelles rouges sont groupées par deux. Les glands bruns rouge murissent sur l'arbre pendant 2 ans.

Dispersion

Les capacités de dispersion du chêne rouge sont modérées. Il se reproduit par graines, dispersées par le vent. Sa régénération est importante, mais son potentiel de colonisation à longue distance semble incertain dans les conditions éco-climatiques belges. Cette espèce est volontairement plantée en forêts.

Habitat

Q. rubra peut coloniser les bois et les lisières forestières. Préférence pour les sols humides, acides, sableux à limoneux. Espèce tolérante à l'ombrage. Fréquemment planté dans les parcs et les bois.

Impact

Espèce classée B3 en Belgique. Des cas d'invasion sont rapportés dans les pays de l'Est. En Belgique les données sont manquantes sur les impacts environnementaux de cette espèce. Néanmoins, une fois planté, le taux de régénération du chêne rouge est très élevé. Les jeunes individus peuvent former un couvert dense qui freine le développement de la flore indigène et des autres espèces d'arbre. En comparaison aux espèces de chênes indigènes, le chêne rouge est caractérisé par des communautés peu diversifiées d'organismes phytophages et saproxylique. La litière est difficilement dégradée et favorise l'acidification des sols. En bordure de forêt, il colonise les milieux ouverts adjacents. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des forêts (chênaie, hêtraie sur sols acides), surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.).

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbres d'ornement

[ Retour ]