Detailed view

© P. Brusselen
© P. Brusselen
© P. Brusselen
© E. Delbart

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Aster novi-belgii

Identity

Common name: Michaelmas daisy
Synonyms: A. brumalis, A. floribundus, A. longifolius
Origin: North America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Mixed border

Description

This factsheet is common for 3 North American aster species relatively similar, all listed as invasive : Aster lanceolatus, A. novi-belgii, A. x salignus. Herbaceous plants up from 0,9 to 1,5 m tall. Flower heads violet. Disk florests yellow and ray-florest violet. Leaves oval lance-shaped, entire or finely toothed, sessile. Flowering in autumn. A. lanceolatus can be distinguished from A. novi-belgii by the sessile leaves with rounded bases.

Spread

Medium spread potential. This plant reproduces only asexually by rhizomes. In Belgium, seeds are not viable in the wild, probably due to the late flowerinf of this species. Due to this strong vegetative development, North American asters can form quickly dense and extended colonies.

Habitat

American asters colonise both ruderal areas (wastelands, railways, roadways, etc.) and wetlands (riverbanks, megaphorbs, alluvial forests, wet meadows, etc.), especially on rich soils.

Impact

Species classified B3 in Belgium. Widespread throughout Europe. North American asters are listed as invasive in several European countries like France, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary. They can invade habitat of high conservation value like wetlands. Due to their strong vegetative development, North American asters can form dense and monospecific colonies displacing native plant species. Nevertheless, in Belgium, no populations of Aster novi-belgii are observed in natural habitats of ecological value. Its impacts seem limited. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near rivers and wet habitats, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) put a rhizome barrier in order to limit lateral expansion.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Mixed border

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© P. Brusselen
© P. Brusselen
© P. Brusselen
© E. Delbart

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Aster novi-belgii

Identité

Nom commun: Aster de nouvelle Belgique
Synonymes: A. brumalis, A. floribundus, A. longifolius
Origine: Amerique du Nord
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes de parterre

Description

Cette fiche est commune à 3 espèces d'Aster nord américain relativement similaires, toutes classées comme invasives : Aster lanceolatus, A. novi-belgii, A. x salignus. Ce sont des plantes herbacées, vivaces, d'une hauteur comprise entre 0,9 et 1.5 m, avec des feuilles lancéolées à linéaires. L'aster de Nouvelle Belgique possède de nombreuses inflorescences, composées d'un disque de fleurs tubulaires jaunes entouré par un seul rang de fleurs ligulées de couleur violettes. Floraison en automne.

Dispersion

Capacité de dispersion modérée. En Belgique, l'espèce ne se reproduit pas par graines, qui ne sont pas viables sous nos latitudes, probablement à cause de la floraison tardive de cette espèce. Par contre, elle se mutliplie abondamment de manière végétative. Les rhizomes présentent une forte aptitude à l'expansion latérale.

Habitat

Les asters nord américains peuvent coloniser à la fois des sites perturbés (friches, talus, bords de route et de voies ferrées) et des milieux humides (berges des cours d'eau, mégaphorbiaies, forêts alluviales, prairies humides, etc.), plus spécialement sur sols riches.

Impact

Espèce clasée B3 en Belgique. Largement répandu dans toute l'Europe. Les asters nord américains sont considérés comme invasifs dans plusieurs pays européens comme la France, la Suisse, l'Autriche, la Hongrie. Ils peuvent envahir des sites de grand intérêt écologique comme les zones humides. Etant donné leur forte aptitude à la multiplication végétative, ils peuvent former des populations denses et monospécifiques qui empêchent le développement de la flore indigène. Néanmoins, en Belgique, aucune population d'Aster novi-belgii n'a été observées dans des milieux semi-naturels d'intérêt écologique (contrairement à A. lanceolatus et A. x salignus). Son impact semble donc limité. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des cours d'eau et des zones humides, surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) poser une barrière anti-rhizome pour limiter une expansion latérale trop excessive.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes de parterre

[ Retour ]