Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
Print page

Parthenocissus inserta

Identity

Common name: False Virginia creeper
Synonyms: Parthenocissus vitacea
Origin: North America
Plant type: Climbing plant
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Climbing plant

Description

This factsheet is common for 2 similar species of virginia creeper : Parthenocissus inserta and P. quinquefolia. Those creepers can grow up to 15 m high along trees thanks to tendrils. Compound leaves with 5 leaflets. Toothed margins. Red coloured in autumn. Bark brown-red. Flowers are yellow-green. Fruits are blue berries. Melliferous.

Spread

High dispersal potential. Fruits are consumed by birds which dispersed seeds over long distances. Fast growing rate. The plant grows horizontally or vertically. This plant easily escapes from gardens.

Habitat

Originally observed in man-made habitat, these popular garden plants are increasingly observed in natural habitats like coastal dunes, riparian habitats and wood margins(P. inserta) or rock outcrops (P. quinquefolia). They usually thrives on nutrient-rich soils.

Impact

Species classified B3 in Belgium. Considered as invasive in the United Kingdom and included in the watch list in Switzerland and France (Bretagne). Similar impact than Lonicera japonica (not yet present in the wild in Belgium). Those vines form dense curtains of interwined stems that may cover, outcompete and kill native vegetation. They may also overtop shrubs and canopy trees. However, competitive effects are rarely reported in the literature. Plant extracts have allelopathic properties. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) avoid planting this species near forests, woods, forest edges, rivers and coastal dunes, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut flowers bafore fructification in order to avoid seeds dispersal.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Climbing plant

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
Print page

Parthenocissus inserta

Identité

Nom commun: Vigne vierge commune
Synonymes: Parthenocissus vitacea
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Plante grimpante
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes grimpantes

Description

Cette fiche est commune pour 2 espèces similaires de vigne vierge : Parthenocissus inserta et P. quinquefolia. Ce sont des lianes qui peuvent grimper le long des arbres jusqu'à une hauteur de 15 m, grâce à des vrilles qui leur permettent de s'accrocher. Les feuilles sont composées avec 5 folioles à bord denté. Les feuilles prennent une coloration rouge en automne. L'écorce est brun-rouge. Les fleurs jaunes-vert. Les fruits sont des baies bleues. Plante mellifère.

Dispersion

Le potentiel de dispersion est élevé. Les fruits sont consommés par les oiseaux qui peuvent transporter les graines sur de longues distances. La plante pousse rapidement, tant sur le plan horizontal que vertical. Elle s'échappe facilement des jardins.

Habitat

Initialement observées uniquement dans des milieux artificiels crées par la main de l'homme (parcs, jardins, etc.), les vignes vierges se trouvent de plus en plus fréquemment dans les milieux naturels comme les dunes littorales, les habitats rivulaires, les haies, les lisières forestières (P. inserta) ou les milieux rocheux (P. quiquefolia). Elles poussent sur des sols riches.

Impact

L'espèce est classée B3 en Belgique. Considérée comme invasive aux Royaumes-Unis. Incluse dans la liste de surveillance en Suisse et en France (Bretagne). Les impacts sont similaires au chèvrefeuille du Japon (Lonicera japonica), non encore présent en Belgique à l'état sauvage. Ces vignes forment des rideaux denses qui peuvent couvrir et même étouffer la végétation indigène. Elles peuvent ainsi recouvrir des arbustes et la canopée des arbres. Toutefois, les impacts ainsi que la compétition avec la flore indigène sont peu documentés dans la littérature. La plante contient des substances allélopathiques. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) éviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des forêts, des bois, des lisières forestières, des cours d'eau et des dunes littorales, surtout aux environs des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) tailler les tiges avec les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dispersion des graines.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes grimpantes

[ Retour ]