Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Lemna minuta

Identity

Common name: Minute duckweed
Synonyms: Lemna minuscula
Origin: North America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Plants for ponds

Description

Aquatic plant floatting on the water surface. Leave elleptic to ovate, between 1 to 3 mm long, with unique nerve. No stems. One unique root of maximum 4 cm long.

Spread

High dispersal potential. The species mainly reproduces vegetatively by lateral budding. High growing rate. The species can be dissaminated over long distances by water birds, which transport plant fragments. Sexual reproduction is mentionned in the literature, but poorly known under Belgian climatic conditions.

Habitat

Lemna minor settles in shallow standing or slow flowing waters, often in shaded conditions. As for native Lemna species, it is found in meso- to eutrophic environments and is strongly resistant to pollution.

Impact

Species classified B3 in Belgium. Widespread in Flanders but less present in Wallonia. Impacts are similar to those of Azolla filiculoides. Outbreaks of Lemna minuta make dense floating mats at the water surface, that reduce light penetration and gas exchanges, causing the predominance of respiratory activities and the reduction in dissolved oxygen in water beneath the mats. As for native duckweed species, outbreaks are usually limited in time and space, depending on climatic conditions and levels of water eutrophication that often cause the disappearance of submersed macrophytes. Competition with native macrophytes is poorly documented but seems to be less severe than with other invasive aquatic plants. Waterfowl and Cyprinid fish are known to eat duckweeds to supplement their diet and may help to reduce outbreaks. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

Avoid planting this species near aquatic habitats (ponds, lakes, rivers, etc.) especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.).

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Plants for ponds

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Lemna minuta

Identité

Nom commun: Lentille d'eau minuscule
Synonymes: Lemna minuscula
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Herbacée
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes pour les plans d'eau

Description

Plante aquatique flottant librement à la surface de l'eau. Feuille longue de 1 à 3 mm, elliptique à ovale, à nervure unique. Pas de tige. Une seule racine longue de max. 4 cm.

Dispersion

Potentiel de dispersion élevé. L'espèce se reproduit surtout de manière végétative par bourgeonnement latéral. La croissance est rapide. L'espèce peut être disséminées sur de longues distances par les oiseaux d'eau, qui transportent des fragment de plantes. La reproduction sexuée est mentionnée dans la littérature, mais mal connue dans nos régions.

Habitat

Lemna minor colonise les plan d'eau stagnante, les bras-mort de cours d'eau ou les cours d'eau à faible courant, bien souvent à l'ombre. L'espèce s'installe dans les eaux mésotrophes à eutrophes. Elle est très résistante à la pollution.

Impact

Espèce classée B3. Très présente en Flandre mais moins abondante en Wallonie. Les impacts de la lentille d'eau sont similaires à ceux de l'azolla fausse-fougère (Azolla filiculoides). Les envahissements par L. minuta génèrent des tapis denses à la surface de l'eau qui réduisent la pénétration de la lumière et les échanges gazeux. Cela peut engendrer une asphyxie progressive du plan d'eau. Ces envahissements sont bien souvent limités dans le temps et dans l'espace, au gré des conditions climatiques. Les proliférations sont plus importantes après de hivers doux, mais diminuent en cas d'hiver rigoureux. C'est pourquoi les impacts environnementaux sont modérés et localisés. Ils sont favorisés par l'eutrophisation des eaux qui cause la disparition des plantes macrophytes aquatiques. La compétition entre Lemna minuta et la végétation aquatique indigène est peu documentée, mais elle semble moins problématique que pour d'autres plantes aquatiques invasives. Certains oiseaux d'eau et certains poissons consomment les lentilles d'eau, ce qui peut contribuer à freiner les envahissements par cette espèce. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des milieux aquatiques (étangs, lacs, cours d'eau, canaux, mares, etc.) surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.).

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes pour les plans d'eau

[ Retour ]