Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Azolla filiculoides

Identity

Common name: Water fern
Synonyms: Azolla caroliniana
Origin: North America, South America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Plants for ponds

Description

This plant is a fern of small size (0.5 to 10 cm long), forming dense mats. Leaves green blue to red coloured (in autumn). No flowers. No possible confusion with another aquatic plant.

Spread

Water fern mainly reproduces vegetatively by stem fragmentation. Dispersal potential is high. Sexual reproduction is irregular or even inexistant in Europe. This plant is often sterile under our climatic conditions.

Habitat

A. filiculoides settles in ponds, ditches, water reservoirs, wetlands, channels and slow flowing rivers, often together with Lemna minuta. It prefers shaded or half shaded habitats. It is able to grow in nitrogen-deficient waters through its symbiotic association with the cyanobacteria Anabaena azollae but is limited by phosophorus availability; it generally prefers (very) eutrophic and alkaline waters with organic bottoms.

Impact

Species classified B2 species in Belgium. This species has an unpredictable behaviour, sometimes appearing abundantly in one place, and then disapearing almoast entirely next year or reapprearing at another place. This behaviour probably depends on climatic and environmental conditions. However, A. filiculoides can form dense floating monospecific mats at the surface of water bodies that reduce light penetration and gas exchanges, causing the predominance of respiratory activities and the reduction in dissolved oxygen in water beneath the mats. These mats often reduce the development of algae, other aquatic plants and animals. But these impacts are limited as dense populations seem to be transient and well localised. Azolla species are known to be readily consumed by Cyprinid fish, which can be considered as good biocontrol agents. For more information, click here

Recommendation

Avoid planting this species near aquatic habitats (ponds, lakes, rivers, etc.), especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.).

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Plants for ponds

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Azolla filiculoides

Identité

Nom commun: Azolla commune, azolla fausse-fougère
Synonymes: Azolla caroliniana
Origine: Amérique du Nord, Amérique du Sud
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes pour les plans d'eau

Description

Cette plante est une fougère aquatique de petite taille (0,5 à 10 cm de long), formant des tapis dense. les feuilles sont de couleur vert bleu à rougeâtre (en automne). Pas de fleurs. Pas de confusion possible avec d'autres plantes aquatiques.

Dispersion

L'azolla commune se reproduit principalement de manière végétative par fragmentation de tige. Son potentiel de dispersion est élevé. La reproduction sexuée est irrégulière, voire inexistante en Europe. La plante reste souvent stérile sous nos conditions climatiques.

Habitat

A. filiculoides colonise surtout les plans d'eau tels que les étangs, les fossés, les réservoirs d'eau, les zones humides, ou encore les cours d'eau à faible courant (canaux, bras morts de cours d'eau, etc.), souvent en compagnie de la lentille d'eau minuscule (Lemna minuta). Elle préfère les milieux ombragés à demi-ombragés. Elle peut se développer dans des eaux relativement chargées en azote, mais sa symbiose avec une cyanobactérie, Anabaena azollae, lui permet également de vivre dans des milieux pauvres en azote, tout en étant limité par la disponibilité en phosphore. La plante préfère généralement les habitats eutrophes (riches en azote) et alcalins (basique).

Impact

Espèce classée B2 en Belgique. Cette espèce a un comportement imprévisible, dont les populations peuvent apparaître en abondance à un endroit, puis disparaître presque entièrement l'année suivante, ou bien réapparaître à un autre endroit. Ce comportement dépend des conditions climatiques et environnementales particulières. Toutefois, l'azolla commune peut former des tapis denses et monospéficiques à la surface des plans d'eau. Ces tapis asphyxient progressivement le milieu, réduisant la pénétration de la lumière, les échanges gazeux et le taux d'oxygène dissous, empêchant le développement des algues, des plantes aquatiques et des animaux aquatiques. Mais ces impacts sont limités puisque les populations denses semblent transitoires et localisées. L'azolla commune est consommé par des poissons de la famille des cyprinidés, considérés comme de bons agents de contrôle biologique. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des milieux aquatiques (étangs, lacs, mares, canaux, cours d'eau), surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.).

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes pour les plans d'eau

[ Retour ]