Detailed view

© H. Zell
© CBN_NSS
© RPS_group_Plc
© H. Zell
© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Invaded site

© NNSS_CCW
Print page

Prunus laurocerasus

Identity

Common name: Cherry laurel
Synonyms: Cerasus laurocerasus, Laurocerasus officinalis, Prunus grandiflora
Origin: Asia Minor
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Green screen • Ornamental shrub

Description

Evergreen shrub or small tree between 3 and 8 m tall. Simple leaves, lanceolate, irregularly toothed, dark green, with bright shiny upper surface. Small white flowers grouped in erect spikes. Black fruits globulous to ovoid.

Spread

Dispersal potentiel is high. The species reproduces by seeds, dispersed by birds which consume fruits of P. laurocerasus. The cherry laurel also reproduces vegetatively by stem cutting, resprouting and root suckering.

Habitat

Forest, woodland areas with slightly acidic soils, both in well-lit and shaded conditions. Frequently planted in garden and parks.

Impact

Species classified B1 in Belgium. P. laurocerasus is included in the watch list in France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria. Its invasiness is poorly documented. In Switzerland, invaded sites have been observed in woodland. In Southern and Central Europe, P. laurocerasus rapidly expands by root suckering, layering and stump sprouting. It has a dense and permanent canopy that outcompete native species, prevent forest regeneration and reduce biodiversity. In Belgium, there are no large populations in the wild. Global warming recently favoured plant installation in Atlantic conditions as well, where it is likely to become a new threat for native biodiversity. A recent study has shown that biomass of P. Laurocerasus is increasing with CO2. The plant is a potential vector of different Phytophtora pathogens. Leaves contain cyanogenic glucoside that are toxic for human. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near forests, forest edges and woods, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seeds dispersal.

Possible native alternatives

Main ornemental function

Green screen
Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© H. Zell
© CBN_NSS
© RPS_group_Plc
© H. Zell
© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Site envahi

© NNSS_CCW
Print page

Prunus laurocerasus

Identité

Nom commun: Laurier cerise
Synonymes: Cerasus laurocerasus, Laurocerasus officinalis, Prunus grandiflora
Origine: Asie mineure
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Ecrans verts • Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Arbuste à feuillage persistant, pouvant atteindre de 3 à 8 m. Feuilles coriaces simples, alternes, d'un vert brillant, elliptiques à oblongues, irrégulièrement dentées et pourvues d'un court pétiole. Elles dégagent un parfum d'amande amère. Les inflorescences forment au printemps des grappes érigées de petites fleurs blanches parfumées qui donnent ensuite des fruits noirs globuleux à ovoïdes.

Dispersion

L'espèce se reproduit par graines, dispersées par les oiseaux (merles entre autre) qui consomment les fruits. Elle se multiplie également par reproduction végétative (bouturage de tiges, rejet de souche, drageons).

Habitat

Bois clairs, forêts. Il apprécie les sols neutres ou légèrement acides, drainés, ensoleillés ou ombragés. Fréquemment planté dans les parcs et jardins (utilisé comme haie).

Impact

Espèce classée B1 en Belgique. Egalement classée dans la liste de surveillance (espèce potentiellement invasive) en France, Suisse, Allemagne, Autriche. Le caractère invasif du laurier cerise est peu documenté. Sa croissance rapide et sa tolérance à la sécheresse et à l'ombre lui permettent de dominer la végétation et de supplanter les espèces indigènes. Le feuillage persistant prive le sol de lumière, ce qui empêche la régénération des autres essences forestières. En Suisse, des cas d'invasion ont été observés en sous-bois, où la fréquence de l'espèce est en augmentation. En Belgique, il n'existe pas de grandes populations dans la nature. Le caractère envahissant de l'espèce pourrait s'accentuer avec le réchauffement climatique, puisque la biomasse de l'espèce augmente avec le CO2. L'ensemble de la plante est toxique pour l'homme. La plante est un vecteur potentiel de différentes espèces de Phytophtora pathogènes. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des forêts, des lisières forestières et des bois, en particulier près des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper - tailler les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternatives indigènes possibles

Principale fonction ornementale

Ecrans verts
Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]