Detailed view

© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Invaded site

© M. Halford
Print page

Lupinus polyphyllus

Identity

Common name: Garden lupin
Origin: North America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Bisannual to perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Mixed border

Description

Herb up to 30-150 cm tall. Bisannual or short perennial. Many flowered. Blue flowers. Pink and white flowers are also found. Palmate leaves

Spread

The species spread by seeds and rhizome. Seeds can be dispersed over long distances by vehicles, soil transport and other human activity. Cultivated and planted as ornamental. The plant has been sown intentionally for soil improvement.

Habitat

Wet meadows and riparian zones, forest clearings. Pioneer species which colonises moderately moist and shaded sites, but also ruderal sites like abandonned meadows and road verges. Semi-natural habitats like poor acidic grassland and tall-herb vegetation are colonised by the plant. In Germany, several hectares of grasslands are invaded in the Rhon biosphere.

Impact

Species classified B2 in Belgium. Highly invasive in Northern Europe and Central Europe. Potentially invasive in Austria. Listed in the watch list in Switzerland. Potential negative impact on vegetation. In Germany, the plant is one of the 15 most widespread alient plants on acid to slightly acid soils. It replaces species-rich dry grassland with monospecific populations. The plant can alter chemical soil properties. N-fixing plant which catch atmospheric nitrogen and increase the N level in soils, favouring nitrogen-demanding species. Subsequent eutrophication of nutrient-poor sites and changes in plant community structure. However, strong invasion of semi-natural habitats is rarely reported in Western Europe. In Belgium, the species is present in different localities, but do not seem to colonise natural habitat. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near natural meadows, wet meadows, grasslands on acid soils, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before frustification in order to avoid seeds dispersal.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Mixed border

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Site envahi

© M. Halford
Print page

Lupinus polyphyllus

Identité

Nom commun: Lupin vivace
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Bisannuel à vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes de parterre

Description

Plante d'une hauteur de 30 à 150 cm. Peut former des touffes. Feuilles longuement pétiolées, palmée. Floraison entre juin et septembre. Inflorescences en grappes terminales dressées, bleues, blanches, parfois roses, ou bicolores. Fruits en forme de gousses poilues, de 3 à 6 cm de long.

Dispersion

La plante se disperse par rhizomes et par graines. Une seule plante peut produire jusqu'à 2000 graines, transportées sur de longues distances par les véhicules, le transport de sols ou d'autres activités humaines. Cultivée et plantée pour l'ornement. Espèce délibérément semée pour l'amélioration des sols.

Habitat

Préférence pour les prairies humides, les milieux alluviaux, les clairières forestires. Espèce pionnière colonisant aussi des sites rudéraux comme les talus, les prairies abandonnées et les bords de route. L'espèce peut envahir les prairies à hautes herbes sur sols pauvres et acides. En Allemagne, des hectares de prairies sont envahis dans la Biosphère du Rhon.

Impact

Espèce classée B2 en Belgique. Très invasif dans les pays d'Europe du Nord et d'Europe Centrale. Potentiellement invasif en Autriche. Inclu dans la liste de surveillance en Suisse. En Allemagne, cette espèce est l'une des 15 plantes exotiques les plus répandues. Elle remplace les communautés riches en espèces situées sur les pelouses sèches, en formant des peuplement monospécifiques. De plus, comme toutes légumineuses, il modifie la composition du sol en fixant l'azote atmosphérique, ce qui influence enrichi le milieu et modifie profondément la composition floristique. Les graines et le feuillage sont toxiques pour le bétail. Toutefois, des situations d'invasions sont peu rapportées en Europe Occidentale (excepté l'Allemagne). En Belgique, l'espèce est présente dans différentes localités, mais ne semble pas envahir les milieux naturels.Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des prairies naturelles, des prairies humides, des pelouses sur sols acides, surtout aux environs des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes de parterre

[ Retour ]