Detailed view

© M. Halford
© L.F. Garcia
© A. Smith
© L. Delafollye
© M. Filipone
© M. Halford
© M. Filipone

Invaded site

© M. Halford
Print page

Ailanthus altissima

Identity

Common name: Tree of heaven
Synonyms: Ailanthus cacodendron, Ailanthus giraldii, Ailanthus glandulosa, Ailanthus peregrine, Ailanthus procera , Ailanthus rhodoptera, Ailanthus sutchuenensis, Pongelion cacodendron, Rhus cacodendron, Toxicodendron altissimum
Origin: Asia
Plant type: Tree
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex I (consensus list)
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental tree

Description

Ailanthus is a small to medium-sized tree, up to 25 m tall. Large, compound leaves, composed of 11-25 leaflets slightly toothed. The fruit consists of 3 samaras (winged fruits). All parts of the tree, especially the flowers, produce a strong odour.

Spread

The tree of heaven reproduces both sexually (by seeds) and asexually (resprouting and root-suckering). One individual can produce up to 325 000 seeds per year. Wind, water and animals (birds) can disperse seeds, sometimes over long distances. Persistent seed bank (seeds are viable more than 5 years in the soil). Muliplication by root-suckers is very efficient. The growing rate is very high (up to 4 m per year). Mature at 3 to 5 years old.

Habitat

Pioneer species tolerant to dry conditions. Ailanthus grows in chalk grassland, rock outcrops and deciduous forests, but also in waste lands or along roadways, railways. Resistant to disturbed or stressed habitats. Highly tolerant of poor air quality and poor soils, the tree is sensitive to ozone.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. Because of its high dispersal capacities, Ailanthus altissima is a very aggressive invader. It can outcompete many native species for sunlight and space. It also produces toxins (allelopathic substances) which accumulate in the soil and inhibit the growth of other plants. The root system can damage pavements, walls,.. The plant can colonise high conservation value habitat like chalk grasslands and other xeric habitats (habitats on dry soils) characterized by rare and protected species. Included in the black list of several European countries like France, Switzerland, Germany, A. altissima is considered as one of the 100 most invasive plants in Europe. The species is not widespread in Belgium, but invaded sites have been observed in chalk grasslands. For more information, click here

Recommendation

Do not plant, do not buy this species.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental tree

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© M. Halford
© L.F. Garcia
© A. Smith
© L. Delafollye
© M. Filipone
© M. Halford
© M. Filipone

Site envahi

© M. Halford
Print page

Ailanthus altissima

Identité

Nom commun: Faux-vernis du Japon
Synonymes: Ailanthus cacodendron, Ailanthus giraldii, Ailanthus glandulosa, Ailanthus peregrine, Ailanthus procera , Ailanthus rhodoptera, Ailanthus sutchuenensis, Pongelion cacodendron, Rhus cacodendron, Toxicodendron altissimum
Origine: Asia
Type de plante: Arbre
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe I (liste de consensus)
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbres d'ornement

Description

Arbre de petite à moyenne taille, mais pouvant atteindre 25 m de haut. Feuilles composées de 11 à 25 folioles faiblement dentés. Tronc droit, écorce lisse et grise. Fleurs jaunes. Les fruits sont des samares ailées. Toutes les parties de l'arbre (surtout les fleurs) sont odorantes. Les feuilles et les fleurs froissées dégagent une odeur désagréable.

Dispersion

Le faux-vernis du Japon se reproduit de manière sexuée (par graines) et asexuée (rejet de souche et drageonnement). Un seul individu peut produire jusqu'à 325 000 graines par an ! Elles sont dispersées par l'eau, le vent et les animaux (oiseaux), parfois sur de longues distances. La banque de graines (les graines contenues dans le sol) est persistante : les graines sont viables dans le sol plus de 5 ans. La multiplication végétative par les drageons est très efficace. La vitesse de croissance est élevée : un individu peut pousser de 4 m par an. L'espèce est mature entre 3 et 5 an.

Habitat

Espèce pionnière tolérante aux conditions sèches. L'ailanthe pousse sur les pelouses, les affleurement rocheux, en forêt, mais aussi dans les friches, les talus ou le long des bords de route ou des voies ferrées. Résistant aux perturbations. Plante très tolérante à la pollution de l'air et aux sols pauvres, elle est néanmoins sensible à l'ozone.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Etant donné ses fortes capacités de dispersion, le faux-vernis du Japon est en envahisseur très agressif. L'espèce est très compétitrice et empêche le développement de la flore native. Il produit des substances toxiques qui s'accumulent dans le sol et qui inhibent la croissance des autres espèces. Cet arbre peut envahir des sites de grand intérêt écologique comme les pelouses calcaires et d'autres habitats sur sols xériques (sols secs) caractérisés par des espèces rares et protégées. Classé dans la liste noire de plusieurs pays européen comme la France, la Suisse, l'Allemagne, il est également considéré comme une des plantes les plus problématiques en Europe. En Belgique, l'espèce n'est pas largement répandue. Des cas d'invasion ont été observés en pelouses calcaires et dans des anciennes carrières. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Ne pas planter, ne pas acheter cette espèce.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbres d'ornement

[ Retour ]