Detailed view

© Etienne Branquart
© M. Halford
© Halford
© Rafalowicz
© Rafalowicz

Invaded site

© M. Halford
Print page

Acer rufinerve

Identity

Common name: Red veined maple
Synonyms: Acer pensylvanicum ssp. rufinerve, A. cucullobracteatum
Origin: Japan
Plant type: Tree
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental tree

Description

Tree up to 15-20 m tall. Very green appearance (young stems are green). Snake barkmarple (bark with distinctive white-striped). Leaves have a typical shape, with 3 to 5 lobes. They wear small tufts of rusty hair on the veins when young.

Spread

The plant is usually propagated by wind-dispersed seeds. In forests, seedlings of A. rufinerve have been oberved at 50 meters from seed-producing trees. The species has also strong vegetative multiplication capacities. Stems root easily when they touch the ground and create new vertical shoots. Small fragments of stems can rapidly create new individuals. Root suckering have been observed. There is a high resprouting ability after cutting the main stem. It is an ornamental species which can escape from garden, parks and cultivation.

Habitat

In Belgium, A. rufinerve grows on poor and sandy soils. It tends to avoid the most dry and acidic soils (pH < 4.0). It clearly prefers oak over beech dominated stands. It is often found together with Prunus serotina, another invasive tree species.

Impact

Species classified B1 in Belgium.The species does not appear in lists of invasive plants in Europe. A. rufinerve is not widespread in Belgium, but there are several invaded sites where young stems form very dense thickets wherein few herbaceous plant species are able to grow. The species is difficult to manage because of its high vegetative muliplication capacity. For more information, click here

Recommendation

Avoid planting this species near forests (acidophilous beech or oak forests), especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ;

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental tree

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© Etienne Branquart
© M. Halford
© Halford
© Rafalowicz
© Rafalowicz

Site envahi

© M. Halford
Print page

Acer rufinerve

Identité

Nom commun: Erable jaspé de gris
Synonymes: Acer pensylvanicum ssp. rufinerve, A. cucullobracteatum
Origine: Japon
Type de plante: Arbre
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbres d'ornement

Description

Arbre dont la hauteur peut atteindre 15-20 m. Apparence générale de couleur verte (les tiges des jeunes pousses et des jeunes semenciers sont vertes). Ecorce dite « à peau de serpent » (écorce avec des rayures blanches caractéristiques). Les feuilles ont une forme typique, avec 3 à 5 lobes. Présence de petites touffes de poils roux sur les nervures des jeunes feuilles.

Dispersion

La plante se dissémine par graines, dispersées par le vent. Les jeunes individus poussent rapidement. En milieu forestier, des pousses d'Acer rufinerve ont été observées jusqu'à une distance de 50 m des semenciers. L'espèce présente également d'importantes capacités de multiplication végétative. Les tiges couchées s'enracinent facilement et génèrent des rejets verticaux. De petits fragments de tiges peuvent rapidement générer de nouveaux individus. Des drageons ont été observés sur le terrain. Les jeunes individus rejettent abondamment de souche une fois la tige principale coupée. C'est une espèce ornementale communément plantées dans les parcs et jardins.

Habitat

En Belgique, A. rufinerve pousse en milieux forestiers (sous-bois, lisières forestières, clairières) sur des sols pauvres et sableux à sablo-limoneux. L'espèce évite les sols très secs et trop acides. On la retrouve surtout dans les forêts claires à dominance de chêne. Il évite les forêts de hêtre. En Belgique, A rufinerve peut pousser en compagnie d'un autre arbre invasif : le cerisier tardif (Prunus serotina).

Impact

Espèce classée B1 en Belgique. Cette espèce ne figure généralement pas sur la liste des plantes invasives dans les autres pays européens. Néanmoins, en Belgique, plusieurs sites envahis ont été recensés. En conditions favorables, les jeunes tiges d'Acer rufnerve peuvent former des peuplements denses en-dessous desquels peu d'espèces herbacées poussent. Il peut modifier les successions végétales et freiner la régénération des essences forestières. Cet arbre est difficile à gérer étant donné ses fortes capacités de multiplication végétative. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des forêts (hêtraie, chênaie sur sols acides) surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.).

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbres d'ornement

[ Retour ]