Detailed view

© A. Murray
© WT.Waller
© M. Halford

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Egeria densa

Identity

Common name: Brazilian waterweed
Synonyms: Elodea densa, Anacharis densa
Origin: South-America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex I (consensus list)
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Plants for ponds

Description

Egeria densa is a submerged, freshwater perennial. Stems are erect and grow until they reach the water surface where they form dense mats. Stems can reach a length between 3 and 5 m. Stem and leaves are bright green, leaves are found in whirls of 4 to 8.

Spread

Egeria densa is a popular aquarium plant. High vegetative growth rate. No sexual reproduction. Stem fragments float away, root and regenerate new plants.

Habitat

The Brazilian waterweed grows in various freshwater habitats, from still to flowing systems and from very shallow to deep waters. It is common in acid waters but lives also in calcareous and eutrophic environments. The species is not light demanding.

Impact

Species classified A1 in Belgium. Potentially invasive in France. Brazilian waterweed forms dense monospecific populations which often colonise the whole water bodies, preventing water from flowing, cutting off light, producing anoxic conditions and trapping sediments. It outcompetes native aquatic plants and adversely affect fish communities. The plants are not consumed by fishes and they interfere with navigation and recreation activities. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

Do not buy nor plant this species.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Plants for ponds

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© A. Murray
© WT.Waller
© M. Halford

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Egeria densa

Identité

Nom commun: Egéria
Synonymes: Elodea densa, Anacharis densa
Origine: Amérique du Sud
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe I (liste de consensus)
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes pour les plans d'eau

Description

Plante aquatique totalement submergée et fixée au substrat, de taille comprise entre 3 et 5 m. Tiges érigée qui croissent jusqu'à atteindre la surface du plan d'eau. Feuilles sessiles, vert foncé, verticillées par 4 à 8. Tige verte à brunâtre. Système racinaire partant de la base des tiges.

Dispersion

Grande capacité de dispersion. Reproduction végétative par bouturage de fragments de tiges et de turions (tissu végétal différencié assurant leur pérennité durant l'hiver). Croissance rapide. Dispersion à longue distance par les cours d'eau. Pas de reproduction sexuée en Europe (seules les fleurs mâles sont présentes).

Habitat

L'égéria pousse dans divers habitats aquatiques allant des eaux courantes aux eaux stagnantes, de faible ou de grande profondeur. Elle est commune dans les eaux méso-eutrophes à eutrophes, acides ou calcaires. Ce n'est pas une espèce de lumière. Elle peut se développer dans des eaux profondes et troubles.

Impact

Espèce classée A1 en Belgique. Potentiellement problématique en France. L'égéria peut fortement dégrader les écosystèmes envahis. Son impact sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes est élevé. Elle forme des tapis denses qui couvrent les plans d'eau, réduisent la pénétration de la lumière, freinent l'écoulement des eaux. Son développement peut progressivement asphyxier le milieu aquatique, affectant à la fois la faune et la flore. Elle peut coloniser les cours d'eau, les étangs, les drains. Son envahissement affecte les activités de loisirs nautiques (navigation, pêche, etc.). Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Ne pas acheter ni planter cette espèce.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes pour les plans d'eau

[ Retour ]