Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Spiraea douglasii

Identity

Common name: Hardhack steeplebush
Origin: North America
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental shrub

Description

This factsheet is common for 3 species of North American Spiraea's : S. alba, S. douglasii and S. x bilardii. These are rhizomatous shrubs, with a height of 1 to 2 m, multi-stemmed, rising at the base. Forming single indivuduals or dense thickets. S. douglasii has small, dark pink flowers, grouped in dense conical panicles. Single leaves, toothed only along the superior half. Tomentose beneath.

Spread

In Belgium, reproduction modes of North American Spiraea's varies with species and environment. S. douglasii reproduces sexually (seeds) and vegetatively (rhizomes, sprouting, cutting). High lateral expansion abilities through rhizomes. Rhizomes can extend to several meters from the parent plant. Germination rate of S. douglasii seeds is low (between 8 and 15 %).

Habitat

North American spiraea's colonise riverbanks, wet woodlands, clearcuts, forest edges. They grow on sandy or loamy soils, rather moist and acidic. Also planted in hedges, garden and parks. S. douglasii colonises forests habitats on sandy and moist soils. Also found in bogs.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. Spiraea species are fast-growing rhizomatous species. They easily form dense monospecific thickets which outcompete native flora and may reduce plant diversity. S. douglasii can invade habitat of high conservation value like wetlands and bogs. There are invaded sites in nature reserves in Flanders (Northern Belgium). The ecology of S. douglasii seems similar to another Spiraea considered as invasive in Europe (Poland and Germany) : S. tomentosa, which invades wet heaths, wetlands, woodlands on sandy acidic soils. S. tomentosa is also present in Flanders. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near wet habitats, rivers and bogs, espacially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal ; (3) put a rhizome barrier in order to limit lateral expansion.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Spiraea douglasii

Identité

Nom commun: Spirée de Douglas
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Cette fiche est commune à 3 espèces de spirées nord-américaines assez similaires : S. alba, S. douglasii and S. x bilardii. Ce sont des arbustes rhizomateux, d'une hauteur de 1 à 2 m, à tiges multiples, ramifiées à la base. Ils peuvent former des individus isolés ou des fourrés denses. La spirée de douglas possède de petites fleurs rose foncé, groupées en panicules coniques et denses. Feuilles simples, dentées seulement sur la moitié supérieure, recouvertes d'un tomentum blanchâtre sur la face inférieure.

Dispersion

En Belgique, les modes de reproduction des spirées nord-américaines varient probablement selon l'espèce et les conditions environnementales. La spirée de douglas se reproduit de manière sexuée (par graines) et asexuée (rhizomes, rejets de souche). L'espèce présente de grande capacité d'expansion latérale. Les rhizomes peuvent s'étendre jusqu'à plusieurs mètres de l'individu parent. Le taux de germination des graines (en conditions contrôlées) est faible, de l'ordre de 8 à 15 %.

Habitat

Les spirées nord-américaines colonisent les berges des cours d'eau, les bois humides, les clairières et les lisières forestières. Elles poussent sur des sols sableux à limoneux, plutôt humides et acides. Egalement plantées dans les haies, les parcs et les jardins. La spirée de douglas colonise les habitats forestiers sur sols sableux et humides. Egalement présente sur sols tourbeux.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Les spirées nord-américaines sont des espèces rhizomateuses à croissance rapide et à forte capacité d'expansion latérale. Elles forment facilement des fourrés denses et monospécifiques qui freinent le développement de la flore native et peuvent réduire la diversité végétale. La spirée de Douglas peut coloniser des milieux de grand intérêt biologique comme les zones humides et les tourbières. Des sites envahis ont été identifiés en réserve naturelle en Campine (Nord-Est de la Belgique). L'écologie de la spirée de Douglas semble similaire à une autre espèce de spirée considérée comme invasive en Europe (Allemagne et Pologne surtout) : la spirée tomenteuse (Spiraea tomentosa), qui peut former d'importantes colonies dans les landes humides, les zones humides et les bois sur sols sableux et acides. La spirée tomenteuse est également présente en Flandre. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des zones humides, des cours d'eau et des tourbières, surtout aux environs des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) tailler - couper les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines ; (3) poser une barrière anti-rhizome pour limiter une expansion latérale trop excessive.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]