Detailed view

© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Invaded site

© M. Halford
Print page

Spiraea x billardii

Identity

Common name: Billardii meadowsweet
Origin: North America
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental shrub

Description

This factsheet is common for 3 species of North American Spiraea's : S. alba, S. douglasii and S. x bilardii. S. x billardii is the (supposed) hybrid between S. alba and S. douglasii. Rhizomatous shrub, with a height of 1 to 2 m, multi-stemmed, rising at the base. Forming single indivuduals or dense thickets. Rose and small flowers, grouped in dense conical panicles. Leaves with intermediate traits from its two parents.

Spread

In Belgium, reproduction modes of North American Spiraea's varies with species and environment. S. alba and S. x billardii seem to reproduce only vegetatively by rhizomes, sprouting and cutting. Rhizomes can extend to several meters from the parent plant. No seed germination have been observed for this hybrid species. Small rhizome fragments (10 cm long) can regenerate at a rate of 50%, which is higher than S. alba, indicating the vegetative multiplication capacities is more important. Long distance dispersal of rhizome fragments transported by rivers stream or soil transfer is possible.

Habitat

North American spiraea's colonise riverbanks, wet woodlands, clearcuts, forest edges. They grow on sandy or loamy soils, rather moist and acidic. S. x bilardii is mostly found along linear networks (roadways, waterways, hedges). Also planted in garden and parks.

Impact

Species classified B2 in Belgium. Spiraea are fast-growing rhizomatous species, with high lateral expansion capacities. They easily form dense monospecific thickets which outcompete native flora and may reduce plant diversity. Nevertheless, Spiraea x billardii seems less detrimental in Belgium. There are few populations in natural habitats of ecological value. Important to mention there are other Spiraea species considered as invasive or potentially invasive in Europe, like S. tomentosa or S. japonica. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) avoid planting this species near wet habitats or along rivers, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) put a rhizome barrier in order to avoid excessive lateral expansion.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© M. Halford
© M. Halford

Site envahi

© M. Halford
Print page

Spiraea x billardii

Identité

Nom commun: Spirée de billard
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Cette fiche est commune à 3 espèces de spirées nord-américaines assez similaires : S. alba, S. douglasii et S. x billardii. Ce sont des arbustes rhizomateux, d'une hauteur de 1 à 2 m, à tiges multiples, ramifiés à la base. Ils forment des individus isolés ou des fourrés denses. S. x billardii est l'hybride supposé entre S. alba et S. douglasii. Ses fleurs sont roses, de petites tailles, groupées en panicules coniques denses. Les feuilles sont de forme intermédiaire entre ses 2 parents.

Dispersion

En Belgique, les modes de reproduction des spirées nord-américaines varient probablement selon l'espèce et les conditions environnementales. S. x billardii (tout comme S. alba) ne se reproduit pas par graines, mais se multiplie essentiellement par rhizomes et rejets de souche. Les rhizomes peuvent s'étendre jusqu'à plusieurs mètres. Les spirées peuvent également se multiplier par bouturage de tiges. Les fragments de rhizomes se régénèrent facilement. Le taux de régénération est de 50 % pour S. x billardii. Il est plus élevé que pour S. alba, ce qui indiquerait que les capacités de multiplication végétative de l'hybride soient plus importantes. Ces fragments peuvent être transportés sur de longues distances via les cours d'eau et le transfert de sol.

Habitat

Les spirées nord-américaines colonisent les berges des cours d'eau, les bois humides, les clairières et les lisières forestières. Elles poussent dans différents types de sols, sableux à limoneux, plutôt humides. Spiraea x billardii se trouve surtout dans des milieux perturbés ou le long d'éléments linéaires comme les haies, les routes et parfois les cours d'eau. Egalement plantée dans les parcs et jardins.

Impact

Espèce classée B2 en Belgique. Les spirées nord-américaines sont des espèces rhizomateuses à croissance rapide et à forte capacité d'expansion latérale. Elles forment facilement des fourrés denses et monospécifiques qui freinent le développement de la flore native et peuvent réduire la diversité végétale. Toutefois la spirée de billard est moins problématique en Belgique. Il existe peu de populations dans les milieux de grand intérêt écologique. Il y a peu de données sur ses impacts. Il y a d'autres espèces de spirées considérées comme invasives ou potentiellement invasives en Europe, comme Spiraea tomentosa. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) éviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des zones humides ou le long des cours d'eau, surtout aux environs des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) poser une barrière anti-rhizome pour éviter que la plante ne s'étende latéralement de manière excessive.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]