Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© E. Branquart

Invaded site

© M. Halford
Print page

Spiraea alba

Identity

Common name: White meadowsweet
Origin: North America
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental shrub

Description

This factsheet is common for 3 species of North American Spiraea's : S. alba, S. douglasii and S. x bilardii. These are rhizomatous shrubs, with a height of 1 to 2 m, multi-stemmed, rising at the base. Forming single indivuduals or dense thickets. S. alba has small white flowers, grouped in dense conical panicles. Single leaves, toothed all along the edge.

Spread

In Belgium, reproduction modes of North American Spiraea's probably vary with species and environment. S. alba and S. x billardii seem to reproduce only vegetatively by rhizomes and sprouting. Rhizomes can extend to several meters from the parent plant. No seed germination have been observed in controled experiments. Cutting is also metionned in litterature. Small rhizome fragments (10 cm long) can regenerate at a rate of 20% for S. Alba. These fragments can be transported over long distances through rivers or soil transport.

Habitat

North American spiraea's colonise riverbanks, wet woodlands, clearcuts, forest edges. They grow on sandy or loamy soils, rather moist and acidic. S. alba is mostly found along linear networks (roadways, waterways, hedges). Also planted in garden and parks.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. Spiraea are fast-growing rhizomatous species with high lateral expansion capacities. They easily form dense monospecific thickets which outcompete native flora and may reduce plant diversity. The species can colonise habitats of high conservation value like riverbanks and alluvial forests. In the Ardennes (Southern Belgium), a population of S. alba has spread in a Natura 2000 forest from a few deliberately planted individuals to an invaded area of more than 3 ha along rivers. Few native species can grow under this dense shrub layer, which prevent trees from regenerating. Other Spiraea species have been reported as invasive or potentially invasive in Europe, like Spiraea tomentosa or Spiraea japonica. But these species are not included in the list of invasive plants in Belgium. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near rivers and wet habitats, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) put a rhizome barrier in order to limit lateral expansion.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© E. Branquart

Site envahi

© M. Halford
Print page

Spiraea alba

Identité

Nom commun: Spirée blanche
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Cette fiche est commune à 3 espèces de spirées nord américaines assez similaires : S. alba, S. douglasii and S. x bilardii. Ce sont des arbustes rhizomateux, d'une hauteur de 1 à 2 m, à tiges multiples, ramifiées à la base. Ils peuvent former des individus isolés ou des fourrés denses. La spirée blanche possède des fleurs blanches, groupées en panicules coniques et denses. Feuilles simples, dentées sur tout le bord.

Dispersion

En Belgique, les modes de reproduction des spirées nord-américaines varient probablement selon l'espèce et les conditions environnementales. S. alba and S. x billardii ne semblent se multiplier que par rhizomes et rejets de souche. Les rhizomes peuvent s'étendre jusqu'à plusieurs mètres. Le bouturage de tiges est également mentionné dans la littérature. Les graines ne semblent pas viables en Belgique. Des tests de germination en conditions contrôlées n'ont donné aucun résultats. Ces données doivent être confirmées. Les fragments de rhizomes se régénèrent. Des taux de régénération de 20 % ont été obtenus en conditions contrôlées avec des fragments de 10 cm. Ces fragments peuvent être transportés sur de longues distances via les cours d'eau et le transport de sol.

Habitat

Les spirées nord américaines colonisent les berges des cours d'eau, les bois humides, les clairières et les lisières forestières. Elles poussent sur des sols sableux à limoneux, plutôt humides et acides. S. alba se trouve surtout le long des éléments linéaires (haies, routes, cours d'eau). Egalement plantée dans les parcs et jardins.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Les spirées nord américaines sont des espèces rhizomateuses à croissance rapide et à forte capacité d'expansion latérale. Elles forment facilement des fourrés denses et monospécifiques qui freinent le développement de la flore native et peuvent réduire la diversité végétale. La spirée blanche peut coloniser des milieux de grand intérêt biologique comme les berges des cours d'eau et les forêts alluviales. En Ardennes (Sud de la Belgique), une population de S. alba s'est étendue sur plus de 3 ha dans un site Natura 2000. Peu d'espèces indigènes poussent sous un couvert dense de spirée. Son envahissement empêche la régénération des essences forestières. D'autres espèces de spirées sont mentionnées comme invasives ou potentiellement invasives en Europe, comme Spiraea tomentosa ou Spiraea japonica. Mais ces espèces ne sont pas incluses dans la liste des plantes invasives en Belgique. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des cours d'eau et des zones humides, surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) poser une barrière anti-rhizome pour limiter une expansion latérale trop excessive.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]