Detailed view

© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford
© E. Branquart

Invaded site

© Kollmann
Print page

Rosa rugosa

Identity

Common name: Rugosa rose
Origin: Easthern Asia
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Cover ground • Ornamental shrub

Description

Small shrub from 2 to 3 m tall. The surface of the leaves is wrinkled, the twigs are covered with thin, straight sharp spines of various sizes. The fruits, called rose hips, are deep red and ripen in late summer. Big flowers white or light to dark pink coloured depending on the cultivar.

Spread

The plant reproduces sexually by seeds and vegetatively (rhizomes, stem layering, sprouting). Seeds are transported by wind, water (seas) and animals. Attractive fruits for animals (i.e. birds). Seeds dispersed by resident birds may not be transported far away from the seed source in contrary by seed transport by migratory birds. Seeds in the soil can remain viable for several years. High ability of lateral expansion by rhizomes. In Denmark, R. rugosa has spread from a few clones to a more or less contiguous area of 3,5 ha in less than 50 years.

Habitat

Rosa rugosa colonizes coastal dunes, dune grassland and riparian zones. Occurs in sandy or gravelly soils. It shows a preference to open, fresh or dry habitats. It can colonize acid and basic soils and is able to invade nutrient-poor habitats. Frequently planted along roads.

Impact

Species classified A3 in Belgium. Rosa rugosa forms extensive impenetrable thickets due to lateral expansion by rhizomes. Impact on rare and native flora in dunes is well documented. Thickets of R. Rugosa alter the botanical composition of high conservation value habitats. Highly invasive in the British Isles, Germany, Denmark, and other Northern and Central Europe countries, mainly along the coasts. In Belgium, dunes are colonised by of R. rugosa. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near coastal dunes and sandy grasslands, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal ; (3) put a rhizome barrier in order to limit lateral expansion.

Possible native alternatives

Main ornemental function

Cover ground
Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford
© E. Branquart

Site envahi

© Kollmann
Print page

Rosa rugosa

Identité

Nom commun: Rosier rugueux
Origine: Asie de l'est
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Couvre-sols • Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Small shrub from 2 to 3 m tall. Feuilles composées. Tiges pourvues de fines épines de différentes tailles. Fruit rouge contenant les graines. Grandes fleurs de couleur variable selon les cultivars, allant de rose vif à pourpre, parfois blanche.

Dispersion

L'espèce se reproduit sexuellement par les graines, mais aussi de manière végétative par les rhizomes, les stolons et les rejets de souche. Les graines sont transportées par le vent, l'eau (la mer) et les animaux. Les fruits sont attractifs pour les oiseaux, qui peuvent disperser les graines sur de longues distances, surtout avec les oiseaux migrateurs. Les graines peuvent rester viable dans le sol durant plusieurs années. Grande capacité d'expansion latérale par les rhizomes. Au Danemark, une population de rosier rugueux s'est étendue à partir de quelques clones sur une surface plus ou moins continue de 3,5 ha en moins de 50 ans.

Habitat

Le rosier rugueux envahi les dunes côtières, les pelouse sur dunes et parfois les zones rivulaires. On le retrouve surtout sur des sols sableux et graveleux. Préférence pour les milieux ouverts, frais ou secs. Peut pousser sur des sols pauvres. L'espèce est fréquemment plantée comme ornementale, surtout dans les bords de route.

Impact

Espèce classée A3 en Belgique. Cette plante forme des fourrés denses et impénétrables dus à l'expansion latérale des rhizomes générant de nombreuses tiges. Dans les dunes, l'impact sur la flore indigène est bien documentée. Les fourrés de rosier rugueux affectent la composition botanique de ces milieux de grand intérêt écologique. Hautement invasif dans les Iles Britanniques, au Danemark et en Allemagne, ainsi que dans d'autres pays d'Europe centrale et du Nord, principalement le long des côtes. L'espèce envahit les dunes littorales de Belgique, habitat protégé classé Natura 2000. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Ne pas planter cette espèce le long de la côte belge, à proximité des dunes littorales et des pelouses sur sable, surtout aux environs des zones protégées (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) Taille des fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification (en août) pour éviter que les graines (contenues dans les fruits) ne se disséminent ; (3) poser une barrière anti-rhizome lors de la plantation pour éviter que l'espèce ne s'étende latéralement de manière excessive.

Alternatives indigènes possibles

Principale fonction ornementale

Couvre-sols
Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]