Detailed view

© RPS Group Plc
© GBNNSS
© Y. Barbier
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© B. Delhez
© B. Delhez
© B. Delhez

Invaded site

© CCW
Print page

Rhododendron ponticum

Identity

Common name: Rhododendron
Synonyms: R. speciosum, R. lancifolium
Origin: Asia, Southern Europe
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Green screen • Ornamental shrub

Description

This evergreen shrub is densly branched growing to 5m. Flowers are violet to purple. Seeds are contained within a woody capsule. There are 2 subspecies : R. ponticum ssp. baeticum, native from Southern Europe, and R. ponticum spp. ponticum native from Turkey.

Spread

This species spread predominantly by seeds. Each flower can produce between 3000 and 7000 small seeds which can be dispersed up to 100m by wind and water under favourable open conditions, but often less far in closed canopy forest. Vegetative reproduction remains limited. The plant is able to sprout after cutting. Ends of branches may root if in contact with soil but such growth is usually only found at forest edge. Frequently planted as ornamental.

Habitat

Rhododendron ponticum invades deciduous forests (moninated by oak) and heaths. Preference for acidic soils. Sometimes grows on calcarous soils. Also found in coastal dunes, Nardus grassland and bogs. It is able to tolerate dense shade or even almost closed canopy conditions.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. Highly invasive in several regions in north-western Europe. Rhododendron may forms monospecific stands with a dense and permanent canopy preventing the development of native species. Rhododendron benefits from pollination by native insects. Competition is favoured by the production of allelopathic compounds. This species is poorly consumed by herbivores and its litter is hardly degraded by soil organisms. In invaded sites, R. ponticum is currently recognized as a threat to native communities, and a pest of forestry. First introduced in the British Isles, the species is now widespread in this country. Managing populations of R. ponticum cost 50 millions euros in one single invaded forest. The species is naturalized in France, Germany, Ireland, The Netherlands. In Belgium, invaded sites have been observed, both in Flanders and Wallonia. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near heathlands and forests (acidophilous forests), especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal.

Possible native alternatives

Main ornemental function

Green screen
Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© RPS Group Plc
© GBNNSS
© Y. Barbier
© M. Halford
© M. Halford
© B. Delhez
© B. Delhez
© B. Delhez

Site envahi

© CCW
Print page

Rhododendron ponticum

Identité

Nom commun: Rhododendron pontique
Synonymes: R. speciosum, R. lancifolium
Origine: Asie, Europe du Sud
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Ecrans verts • Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Arbuste sempervirent allant jusqu'à une hauteur de 5m. Grande densité de tiges. Les fleurs sont violettes à pourpres. Les graines sont contenues dans une capsule ligneuse. Il y a 2 sous-espèces : R. ponticum ssp. baeticum, originaire du Sud de l'Europe (Portugal, Espagne), et R. ponticum spp. ponticum originaire de la Turquie et des pays bordant la Mer Noire.

Dispersion

L'espèce disperse principalement par les graines. Chaque fleur peut produire entre 3000 et 7000 petites graines, qui peuvent être transportées par l'eau et le vent, parfois jusqu'à 100 m en milieux ouverts. La reproduction végétative reste limitée. L'espèce est capable de rejetter de souche après la coupe. Les branches peuvent s'enraciner au contact du sol, mais un tel mode de multiplication ne s'observe généralement qu'en lisière forestière. Fréquemment plantée comme ornementale.

Habitat

Le rhododendron pontique colonise les forêts décidues (chênaires acidiphiles) et les landes. Préférence pour les sols acides. Egalement observé sur sols calcaires, mais moins vigoureux. On peut retrouver cette espèce dans les dunes côtières, les pelouses à nard et les tourbières.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Hautement invasif dans plusieurs régions d'Europe occidentale et centrale. Le rhododendron pontique peut former des fourrés denses et impénétrables dont le recouvrement empêche le développement de la flore indigène. L'espèce bénéficie de la pollinisation par les insectes. La dominance de l'espèce est favorisée par la production de substances allélopathiques. L'espèce peu appétées par les herbivores. Sa litière est difficilement dégradée par les organismes du sol. Dans les milieux envahis, R. ponticum est reconnu comme une menace pour les communautés végétales indigènes, mais aussi comme une « peste » pour la sylviculture. Introduit pour le première fois en Angleterre, cette espèce est aujourd'hui largement répandue dans les îles Britanniques. Dans une seule forêts envahie, la gestion des populations de rhododendron pontique a coûté 50 millions d'euros. L'espèce est aujourd'hui naturalisée dans différents pays comme la France, l'Allemagne, l'Irlande, les Pays-Bas. En Belgique, des sites envahis ont été observé aussi bien en Wallonie qu'en Flandre. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des landes et des forêts (forêts sur sols acides), surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper - tailler les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternatives indigènes possibles

Principale fonction ornementale

Ecrans verts
Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]