Detailed view

© P. Brusselen
© P. Fenwick
© P. Fenwick
© M. Halford

Invaded site

© P. Brusselen
Print page

Helianthus tuberosus

Identity

Common name: Jerusalem artichoke
Origin: North America
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Mixed border

Description

Helianthus tuberosus is an herbaceous plant, geophyte, with erect stems up to 3 m tall. Rhizomes with numerous potato-like tubers which persist throughout winter. Tubers are edible and serve as vegetable. Leaves mostly opposite, lanceolate long-pointed. Yellow flowers. Late flowering in Autumn (September to November).

Spread

Helianthus tuberosus mainly reproduces vegetatively by rhizomes. Because of late flowering, the plant produces few seeds. Maturation is usually interrupted by Autumn frost. Sexual reproduction is therefore very low. In the Summer, the plants produce tubers which allow the formation of new shoots the following Spring. This vegetative reproduction methods leads to dense stands. The tubers can also be spread by animals and water. Frequently planted as a vegetable before the second world war, and then abandonned, the species has survived and has continued to grow in the wild up to now.

Habitat

Riverbanks, alluvial soils. It prefers full sun conditions, moist and nutrient-rich soils, sandy to loamy. Intolerant to shade, the species is absent under canopy (alluvial forest). Also found on wastelands and abandonned fileds. Tubers are resistant to frost. The species is still used today as a vegetable.

Impact

Species classified A3 in Belgium. The plant can form dense, monospecific populations along rivers, where it outcompetes native species, alter vegetal successions by trees and favours river bank erosion. Helianthus can be very competitive in alluvial habitats. In some case, this species can be as competitive as Fallopia japonica. Widespread in Central Europe. Included in the black list in France, Germany, Austria, Hungrary, Italy, and in the watch list in Switzerland. It one of the most aggressive invader in some regions of Germany. Also invasive in North-Eastern France. In Belgium, large populations are present along rivers near the German border. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near rivers and wet habitats, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) put a rhizome barrier in order to limit lateral expansion.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Mixed border

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© P. Brusselen
© P. Fenwick
© P. Fenwick
© M. Halford

Site envahi

© P. Brusselen
Print page

Helianthus tuberosus

Identité

Nom commun: Topinambour
Origine: Amérique du Nord
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes de parterre

Description

Le topinambour est une plante herbacée avec des tiges dont la hauteur peut atteindre 3m. C'est une géophyte dont les rhizomes forment tubercules similaires aux pommes de terre. Ils persistent dans le sol tout l'hiver. Ces tubercules sont comestibles. Les feuilles sont principalement opposées, lancéolées et acuminées (se terminent en pointe). Fleurs jaunes. Floraison tardive en automne (de septembre à novembre).

Dispersion

Le topinambour se reproduit de manière végétative par les rhizomes. Etant donné sa floraison tardive, la plante produit peu de graines, dont la maturation est souvent interrompue par les gelées d'automne. La reproduction sexuée est donc faible. En été, la plante produit des tubercules qui permettent de générer de nouvelles tiges pour le printemps suivant. Cette multiplication végétative peut conduire à des peuplements denses. Les tubercules peuvent aussi être dispersés par l'eau et les animaux. Largement cultivée avant la seconde guerre mondiale, puis abandonnée, cette espèce a survécu et a continué de croître à l'état sauvage jusqu'à aujourd'hui.

Habitat

Berges des cours d'eau, zones alluviales. Le topinambour préfère la lumière, les sols riches en éléments nutritifs, humides, sableux à limoneux. Il ne tolère pas l'ombre et ne se développe pas sous couvert. Egalement présent dans les friches, les jachères, les terrains vagues et les champs abandonnés. Les tubercules sont résistants au froid. L'espèce est toujours utilisée comme légume.

Impact

Espèce classée A3 en Belgique. La plante peut former des populations denses et monospécifiques le long des rivières, où elle entre en compétition avec la flore indigène. Elle modifie les successions végétales et favorise l'érosion des berges. Le topinambour est très compétitif dans les habitats alluviaux. Dans certains cas, il est aussi envahissant que la renouée du Japon. Largement répandu en Europe centrale. Il est inclu dans la liste noire de différents pays comme la France, l'Allemagne, la Hongrie, l'Italie. Inclus dans la liste de surveillance en Suisse. C'est un envahisseur agressif dans certaines régions de l'Allemagne. Egalement invasif dans le Nord-Est de la France. En Belgique, de grandes populations sont présentes le long des cours d'eau (la Meuse) près de la frontière allemande. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des cours d'eau et des zones humides, surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) poser une barrière anti-rhizome pour limiter une expansion latérale trop excessive.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes de parterre

[ Retour ]