Detailed view

© M. Halford
© Piqueray
© Piqueray
© M. Halford
© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford

Invaded site

Print page

Cotoneaster horizontalis

Identity

Common name: Rockspray
Origin: Asia
Plant type: Shrub • Climbing plant
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Cover ground • Ornamental shrub

Description

Shrub usually up to 50 cm tall, but individual up to 1m tall can be observed. Stoloniferous stems (stems that spread horizontally). Single flowers or grouped by 2, pink coloured. Flowering in May - June. Red fruits. Fructification in September -October. Used as ornemental ground cover.

Spread

C. horizontalis reproduces sexually by seeds and vegetatively (stem layering, sprouting). Production of a high number of fruits, very attractive for birds, which disperse seeds over long distances by defecation. Fruits observed on 3 years old individuals. Germination rate up to 30 %. Strong of lateral expansion with stem layering which generate new indivuals from a mother plant. Roots can penetrate deep into the rocks. It can cover ground surfaces of several m².

Habitat

Dunes, rock outcrops, quarries, calcareous grasslands, with a preference to xerophilous sites. Also found in man-made habitats like walls, railway embankments and sand quarries.

Impact

Species classified A2 in Belgium. C. horizontalis can colonise habitat of high conservation value like coastal dunes and chalk grasslands. Due to its high spread potential and lateral expansion aptitudes, the species can negatively impact native flora. On chalk grasslands, the spread of C. horizontalis can alter the botanical composition and diversity of vegetal communities. On such habitats, attractive flowers of rocksprays can also cause diversion of pollinators. Mentionned as invasive in France, Germany, the United Kingdom. In Belgium, the species invades quarries (rock and sand quarries) and calcarous grasslands. Also found along the coast in Flanders. Other exotic cotoneaster species may be potentially invasive, especially C. damneri, C. dielsianus and C. integrifolius. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near dry or rocky habitats (chalk grasslands, sandy grasslands, coastal dunes, rocky slopes, quarries), especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal.

Possible native alternatives

Main ornemental function

Cover ground
Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© M. Halford
© Piqueray
© Piqueray
© M. Halford
© S. Vanderhoeven
© M. Halford

Site envahi

Print page

Cotoneaster horizontalis

Identité

Nom commun: Cotonéaster horizontal
Origine: Asie
Type de plante: Arbuste • Plante grimpante
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Couvre-sols • Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Sous-arbrisseau généralement haut de 50 cm, mais des individus de plus d'un mètre peuvent être observés. Tiges stolonifères (tiges rampantes). Fleurs solitaires ou groupées par 2, de couleur roses. Floraison en mai-juin. Les fruits sont des baies rouges vifs. Fructification en septembre-octobre. Utilisé comme couvre-sol.

Dispersion

Le cotonéaster horizontal se reproduit par graines et de manière végétative par tiges rampantes et rejets de souche. Il produit un grand nombre de fruits consommés par les oiseaux (grives et merles), qui dispersent les graines sur de longues distances. Des fruits ont été observés sur des individus âgés de 3 ans. Le taux de germination peut atteindre 30 %. Forte aptitude à l'expansion latérale par les stolons, qui s'enracinent et génèrent des rejets verticaux. Il peut couvrir des surfaces de plusieurs mètres carrés. Les racines pénètrent profondément dans la roche. Autrefois fréquemment planté dans les parcs et jardins.

Habitat

L'espèce envahit les pelouses calcaires, les milieux rocheux, les carrières, les dunes. Préférence pour les milieux secs. Egalement présent dans les murs, les bords de voies ferrées et les carrières de sables. Fréquemment planté dans les parcs et jardins.

Impact

Espèce classée A2 en Belgique. Le cotonéaster horizontal colonise des habitats de grand intérêt écologique comme les pelouses calcaires et les dunes littorales. Etant donné ses fortes capacités de dispersion, il peut rapidement s'étendre et avoir un impact négatif sur la flore indigène. En pelouses calcaires, le développement du cotonéaster horizontal modifie la composition botanique et la diversité des communautés végétales. Les fleurs sont butinées par les insectes, ce qui soulève le problème du détournement des pollinisateurs vis-à-vis de la flore native. L'espèce est mentionnée comme invasive en France, Allemagne et aux Royaumes-Unis. En Belgique, elle envahit les carrières et les pelouses calcaires. Egalement présent dans les dunes en Flandre. D'autres espèces de cotonéaster sont potentiellement invasifs, comme Cotoneaster damneri, C. dielsianus et C. integrifolius. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

(1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des milieux secs ou rocheux (pentes rocheuses, pelouses calcaires, anciennes, carrières, pelouses sur sable, dunes), surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper - tailler les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternatives indigènes possibles

Principale fonction ornementale

Couvre-sols
Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]