Detailed view

© E. Delbart
© J. Bakker
© M. Halford
© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Invaded site

© E. Delbart
Print page

Heracleum mantegazzianum

Identity

Common name: Giant hogweed
Origin: Asia (West Caucasus)
Plant type: Herbaceous
Life cycle: Bisannual to perennial
Code of conduct: Annex I (consensus list)
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Black list
Main ornemental function: Mixed border

Description

The giant hogweed is one of the largest herbs in Europe, up to 4 m tall and up to 10 cm in diameter. Leaves are divided and toothed. They can grow up to 3 m in length. The flowers are clustered in an umbrella-shaped head that is up to 80 cm wide. A total of 80.000 white coloured flowers can occur in one single plant.

Spread

The giant hogweed mainly spread by seeds. One individual can produce more than 10.000 seeds, dispersed at short distances by wind and long distances by water. The majority of the seeds fall within a distance of 4 m from the parent plant. This can lead to a natural progression of 10 meters per year.

Habitat

The giant hogweed mostly colonises riverbanks. It prefers moist and nutrient rich soils. Also found in grasslands, forest edges, tall-herb communities and ruderal areas (waste lands, railways, roadsides). Planted as ornamental, the species is frequent near houses.

Impact

Species classified A3 in Belgium. It is an aggressive invader all over Western Europe. Strong competitor for light. It can absorb up to 80% of light in dominant stands. Giant hogweed may reduce species richness and change the botanical composition of indigenous plant communities. The species is widespread in Belgium. Rivers are mostly impacted. The plant is a serious pulbic health issue. Its sap contains photosensitizing substances which may cause severe burns. Accident occurs frequenlty. For more information about this species, click here

Recommendation

Do not plant, do not buy this species.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Mixed border

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© E. Delbart
© J. Bakker
© M. Halford
© E. Delbart
© E. Delbart

Site envahi

© E. Delbart
Print page

Heracleum mantegazzianum

Identité

Nom commun: Berce du Caucase
Origine: Asie (ouest du Caucase)
Type de plante: Herbacée
Cycle de vie: Bisannuel à vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe I (liste de consensus)
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste noire
Principale fonction ornementale: Plantes de parterre

Description

La berce du Caucase est une des plus grande plante herbacée d'Europe. Elle peut atteindre 4 m de haut et 10 cm de diamètre. Les feuilles sont divisées en lobes à bord dentés. Les fleurs sont regroupées en de larges ombelles blanche dont la largeur peut atteindre 80 cm. Une plante peut compter jusqu'à 80 000 fleurs.

Dispersion

Cette plante se disperse principalement par graines. Un seul individu peut produire plus de 10 000 graines. Les graines sont dispersées à courte distance par le vent et à longue distance par les cours d'eau. La plupart des graines tombent dans un rayon de 4 m autour de l'individu parent. Sur terre ferme, cela peut conduire à une expansion des populations d'environ 10 m par an.

Habitat

La berce du Caucase colonise surtout les berges des cours d'eau. Elle préfère les sols humides et riches en éléments nutritifs. Egalement présente dans les prairies, les lisières forestières, les mégaphorbiaies (prairies à hautes herbes) et les sites perturbés (friches, talus, terrains vagues, bordures de voiries). Utilisée comme ornementale, l'espèce est fréquente à proximité des maisons.

Impact

Espèce classée A3 en Belgique. C'est un envahisseur très agressif partout en Europe. Etant donné sa taille imposante, l'espèce a tendance à dominer la végétation et à créer un ombrage important qui empêche les espèces indigènes de se développer. La berce du Caucase réduit la diversité en plantes et modifie la composition botanique des milieux envahis. La plante est partout présente en Belgique. Les cours d'eau sont particulièrement envahis. Elle peut également causer de graves problèmes de santé publique. Au contact de la peau, sa sève peut générer de graves brûlures. Elle contient des substances photo-sensibilisantes qui réagissent avec les rayons du soleil. Des accidents se produisent fréquemment. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

Ne pas planter ni acheter cette espèce.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Plantes de parterre

[ Retour ]