Detailed view

© P. Breen
© P. Breen
© P. Wray

Invaded site

© J.S. Peterson
Print page

Elaeagnus angustifolia

Identity

Common name: Russian olive
Synonyms: E. argentea, E. hortensis, E. inermis, E. caspica, E. spinosa, E. orientalis
Origin: Asia, Southern Europa
Plant type: Shrub
Life cycle: Perennial
Code of conduct: Annex II
Invasive status (ISEIA protocol): Watch list
Main ornemental function: Ornamental shrub

Description

Generally shrubby species, but can reach up to 10 m tall. Tiny yellow flowers. Leaves green coloured above and silvery coloured beneath. Thorns at the tip of branches. Melliferous species attractive for insects. Eatable fruits.

Spread

High dispersal capacities. Plant fruits are readily eaten and disseminated by many species of birds.

Habitat

Mostly found in open dry sandy areas (coastal dunes and extraction/disturbed areas along the river Scheldt). Commonly used as an ornamental, planted in gardens and public green areas (e.g. windbreak and erosion control).

Impact

Species classified B1 in Belgium. In North America, Russian olive invades preferentially beneath the canopy of semi-arid riparian habitats, where it forms self-replacing stands. It is very competitive and can form monospecific populations with high stem densities that displace native vegetation and interfere with natural plant successions. Because it is capable of fixing nitrogen in its roots, it may contribute significant additional nitrogen to the ecosystems that it invades. However, in Belgium as in other West European countries, dense populations of Russian olive are rarely observed in the wild. There are isolated population in Belgium, mostly located in Flanders. For more information, click here

Recommendation

(1) Avoid planting this species near coastal dunes and sandy grasslands, especially in the vicinity of protected areas (natural reserves, Natura 2000 sites, etc.) ; (2) cut the flowers at the end of flowering and before fructification in order to avoid seed dispersal.

Possible native alternative

Main ornemental function

Ornamental shrub

[ Back ]

Vue détaillée

© P. Breen
© P. Breen
© P. Wray

Site envahi

© J.S. Peterson
Print page

Elaeagnus angustifolia

Identité

Nom commun: Olivier de Bohême
Synonymes: E. argentea, E. hortensis, E. inermis, E. caspica, E. spinosa, E. orientalis
Origine: Asia, Europe du Sud
Type de plante: Arbuste
Cycle de vie: Vivace
Code de conduite: Annexe II
Statut invasif (protocole ISEIA): Liste grise
Principale fonction ornementale: Arbustes d'ornement, haies

Description

Arbuste de 5 à 10 m de haut, à feuillage gris argenté à rougeâtre. Feuilles vertes au-dessus et argentées en dessous. Epine à l'extrémité des branches. Fleurs en grappes, de petites tailles, de couleur jaune crème et parfumées. Floraison au début de l'été. Espèce mellifère attractive pour les insectes. Fruits rouge orange comestibles.

Dispersion

Potentiel de dispersion élevé. Reproduction sexuée (par graines). Les fruits sont mangés et disséminés par beaucoup d'espèces d'oiseaux.

Habitat

En Amérique du Nord, l'espèce colonise typiquement les habitats rivulaires en conditions semi-arides. En Belgique, on la trouve surtout dans les milieux ouverts, secs et sablonneux comme les dunes côtières et des milieux perturbés (sites d'extraction le long des rivières). Il est souvent planté en haie comme coupe-vent ou fixateur de talus.

Impact

Espèce classée B1 en Belgique. Surtout présente en Flandre. Elle est très compétitive et peut former des populations monospécifiques avec une grande densité de tiges. Le faible taux de mortalité de ses semis lui donne un pouvoir de dispersion important, qui porte préjudice à la flore indigène. Fixateur d'azote, il peut coloniser des zones pauvres (voire des substrats minéraux nus) et les enrichir en azote, ce qui influence la composition du couvert végétal. Toutefois, en Europe Occidentale, des populations denses d'olivier de Bohême sont rarement observées dans la nature. Les populations sont isolées en Belgique, situées principalement en Flandres. Pour plus d'informations sur cette espèce, cliquer ici

Recommandation

1) Eviter de planter cette espèce à proximité des dunes littorales et des pelouses sur sable, surtout aux environs des zones protégés (réserves naturelles, sites Natura 2000, etc.) ; (2) couper - tailler les fleurs en fin de floraison et avant la fructification pour éviter la dissémination des graines.

Alternative indigène possible

Principale fonction ornementale

Arbustes d'ornement, haies

[ Retour ]